the most important tournament on the circuit

WTA 1000 logo

The WTA tennis circuit is made up of different tournaments and is played throughout the year at different venues in Europe, Asia, Africa, North America, Latin America and Australia. The difference between each is the prize money and the amount of points awarded for world ranking. The latter is determined by the number displayed in the tournament category, being: WTA 125, WTA 250, WTA 500 and WTA 1000, the higher the number, the more prestigious and higher the prize money. The WTA 1000 Tournament is the most important of the circuit, after the 4 Grand Slams, and currently only 8 are played worldwide.

For the first time, Latin America hosts a competition of this category and Guadalajara is on a par with the world's tennis capitals such as: Dubai/Doha, Indian Wells, Miami, Madrid, Rome, Toronto/Montreal and Cincinnati.

History of the tournament

In September 1970, a group of nine professional women players known as "The Original 9" joined together to create the World Tennis Association (WTA ) with the initiative to promote gender equality in the sport. In previous tournaments there were economic differences of up to 12 to 1 in the ratio of men versus women. This group of women, led by Billie Jean King (tennis legend with 39 Grand Slam titles), revolutionized women's tennis forever.

"The Original 9": Billie Jean King, Rosie Casals, Nancy Richey, Kerry Melville, Peaches Bartkowicz, Kristy Pigeon, Judy Dalton, Valerie Ziegenfuss and Julie Heldmanel.

Today the WTA is the global leader in women's professional sport, with ~ 1650 players, representing 85 countries, competing to win the most prestigious titles and the most points to finish with the highest possible season ranking. The circuit consists of more than 50 events and four Grand Slams with a global audience of around 700 million.

Billie Jean King, WTA Finals Awards Ceremony November 2021.

Martina Navratillova.

Chris Evert.

Open chat
Hello 👋
How can we help you?